Campuses: Home button

Uterine Prolapse

Stages of Uterine Prolapse

Doctors define five stages of uterine prolapse based on the pelvic organ prolapse quantification system. This method measures how far the prolapse protrudes into the vagina compared to the hymen. The staging system scores the amount of the prolapse.

Stage 0 – no prolapse exists

Stage I – the prolapse extends more than one centimeter above the level of the hymen

Stage II – the prolapse is one centimeter or less from the hymen

Stage III – the prolapse extends more than one centimeter below the hymen but no more than two centimeters less than the total length of the vagina

Stage IV – the prolapse protrudes completely into the vagina

Locations for Uterine Prolapse