Campuses: Home button

Transitional Cell Carcinoma (TCC)

Stages of Transitional Cell Carcinoma (TCC)

Identifying the stages of transitional cell carcinoma (TCC) can help the medical team determine the best treatment options. For the most past, the clear goal of classifying the stages of TCC is to assess the extent of the cancer.

The stages of transitional cell carcinoma (TCC) are:

  • Stage 0 - cancer cells are detected on the lining of transitional cells within the urinary system.   
  • Stage I -  cancer cells spread deeper into the lining.   
  • Stage II - cancer cells penetrate the lining and spread into the surrounding muscle.
  • Stage III - cancer cells spread beyond the muscle, into the outer tissue and may reach the prostate in men and the uterus in women.  
  • Stage IV - cancer cells invades the abdominal cavity and may spread to the major organs, the lymph nodes, and enter the bloodstream. 

Locations for Transitional Cell Carcinoma (TCC)